krish – 起死回生 [Wake up from death & return to life.]

July 1, 2008

Ride KDE4 with openSUSE 11.0

Filed under: GNU/Linux — krish @ 10:24 pm
Tags: , ,

About Six and half hours of leeching from torrent and 117.4 MB of seeding contribution for self-satisfaction, adds another distro to my wallet – the all new openSUSE 11.0 KDE4 Live CD.

Watching DragonBall on lappie and simultaneously installing openSUSE on my PC made the installation feel fast. After post installation configuration, it automatically logged me in with my username.
I was expecting to see the shiny black KDE4 panel and it turned out that openSUSE build had something else in mind.
A grey panel…err..not so attractive!

KDE4’s panel settings doesn’t have customisation for color and transparency like it did in 3.5.x series. Anyway, I thought I could figure it out somewhere in configuration files or may be live with it.
Some things I found missing during installation include setting hostname, choosing Network Type, Package selections.
After installation I also noticed that an extra user `linux` was created apart from my username.
Who asked for that? Is it a feature or did I do something during installation. ( One eyeball was watching lappie and the other was on PC – trait of suse mascot ) 🙂

I decided to redo installation with careful check. This time I found that I had not unchecked the option of using same password for my username and root. Using this feature simulates ubuntu’s sudo kinda environment where you use your own password to do administrative tasks.
Even after the second installation, I find the ‘linux’ user existing on my system. So, well may be it’s not something I did and probably it’s a feature which I need to find an use for.

Moving on to KDE4 desktop now. openSUSE 11.0 ships in with KDE 4.0.4 which seems quite stable than my trunk build 4.0.7. Yes, quite stable but has issues.
The plasmoids on desktop lose their rotation when you relogin. They get realigned at their default vertical orientation.
Another issue is when I change colors in my look and feel settings and apply them, I get logged out losing all my open tasks.
openSUSE 11.0 also ships Firefox3 beta5 which hangs when your machine comes back from power save mode. Yet to test out Firefox3 Final on this.

Nevertheless, I am loving KDE4. Soon this ‘shipped’ KDE will be removed and my PC should be living on KDE trunk.

Current distro profiles of my machines – openSUSE 11.0 on PC and Mandriva 2008.1 on lappie.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Please leave a Reply / Discuss this topic here :)

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

The Male Factor (TMF)

Serving MANkind

Rough Draft

by Atteris Amarth and Darrek Ringo

The Kochi Post.

Read by all + Influenced by none

JumboMake

A signature of Kiran

SAAYAM CHEDDAM FOUNDATION

This blog is just for additional and extension share of it's main frames. No activity is planned from here

krish - 起死回生 [Wake up from death & return to life.]

Get a sneak peek into krish's life, work and passion.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

A Tale of Two and a Half

Monika Amita Bakshi