krish – 起死回生 [Wake up from death & return to life.]

February 20, 2011

I wish this was a bad dream… and I would wake up

Filed under: Society — krish @ 10:03 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I was feeling pretty sure that it was a dream when I woke up in the morning… that confidence broke as I scrolled through my phone records to find that there was indeed a call that came in almost at midnight when I was in deep sleep.

It threw me in a vast feeling of emptiness and my thoughts went blank for an hour or so….still laying on the bed and looking at the roof, knowing not what to do.

I had lost someone who has had major role in making me what I am today, who had taught and inspired me to live, think, and act logically and in a way that would do good to people around you, has had the ability to turn me from an introvert to an extrovert.

I thought of all those memories with him:

all those inducing knowledge in me of stuff that would come years later in my academic life.. giving me an edge not just over my classmates but also my teachers.

all those fun filled moments of technology talks, corporate world, education system, psychology, government, yelling at morons who drive irresponsibly, varieties of food, life, culture … the list is just endless.

 

It is rare that he would go get admitted in an hospital unless it was absolutely serious. It was surprising that he did it without us and away from us (in Kolkata).. but then I remembered what he said almost a decade ago “I would rather love to die than get bed-ridden” …. guess he knew it was coming.

I bet he could have lived up to his late 90’s if he had been resting and living his luxury life at home, but he chose to serve the rural areas and the less fortunate in capacity of education and life….. very true to his saying “A Life that does not give back to the community is not worth living”

Truly the world has lost a mentor, visionary, philanthropist, idol, role-model ….. on the most simpler level I just lost my Grandfather. The best Grandpa that luck could get us, and I am sure each one of his grandchildren have the same thoughts.

I still wish this is a dream and that this post and my phone call log would just vanish as I wake up tomorrow morning.

P.S: If I am not answering my calls, responding to sms/emails, kindly understand. I will get back to all of them tomorrow.

2 Comments »

  1. I wish i had a grandpa like this. This post just memorized all my moments with my grandpa whom i missed 11 years ago.

    May their soul rest in the peace

    Comment by manusri — February 21, 2011 @ 9:27 am

  2. He was a great man indeed. A class apart from his contemporaries. I remember meeting him a couple of times and he was quite a person. The world surely will miss a selfless person like him. I’m sure he’s resting in peace.

    Comment by RoHiT Iyer — April 4, 2011 @ 8:14 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Please leave a Reply / Discuss this topic here :)

Blog at WordPress.com.

The Male Factor

On behalf of the ignored gender

Rough Draft

by Atteris Amarth and Darrek Ringo

The Kochi Post.

Read by all + Influenced by none

JumboMake

A signature of Kiran

SAAYAM CHEDDAM FOUNDATION

This blog is just for additional and extension share of it's main frames. No activity is planned from here

krish - 起死回生 [Wake up from death & return to life.]

Get a sneak peek into krish's life, work and passion.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

A Tale of Two and a Half

Monika Amita Bakshi

