krish – 起死回生 [Wake up from death & return to life.]

August 21, 2008

laptop woes

Filed under: Free / Open Source — krish @ 2:11 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I bought a new acer 4315 laptop this April; started using from Mid-may since I already had compaq v3000 from one of my clients.
May, June, July passed happily, but things started heating up in August (yeah this month).

I suddenly notice my laptop getting warmer at the left side of keyboard. Losing no time I purchased a cooling base for my lappie (yeah I love my laptop). The cooling base does a wonderful job, though I still feel that the left side of keyboard is warmer than the right; it is quite less than former heat.
Few days pass by, and just when I was beginning to feel comfortable again, I notice this weird flicker on my screen! (2 days ago.) For a moment I thought it could be a power surge, but then I realized I was running on battery.

To describe the flicker is quite hard, its like very thin vertical multicolored lines on your screen for fraction of a second.
This happened twice that day and again twice next day.

Worse was today. Happened 5 times and the fifth time the screen went black for a second. Fifth flicker today was long; about 2 seconds. My heart almost stopped.
I know acer service center closes at 17:30 IST and there is no use calling them now. Probably will get an auto responder.

I remember that I couldn’t register my purchase on acer site because it wouldn’t open the calendar in one of the form fields on firefox. I tried my luck again today but no use.
(For hasty suggester:
1. I know acer.co.in is written is an asp.NET content written in C#
2. I have Java Runtime and Java browser plugin (1.5 on PC and 1.6 on laptop); I’ve tried registering from both.
3. If you think I should use Microsoft Internet Explorer to do it – Please buy me an original Windows.
4. I dont want IE running on my GNU/Linux distro. )

Also, acer.co.in isn’t serving pages. You have to google for it and get to this link http://www.acer.co.in/home/index.asp?sid=511857353

Let me carry-in my lappie to their service center and may be they can help without blaming it on GNU/Linux.
(Oh yes, I’ve heard of many support centers that start blaming on whatever they don’t/don’t want to understand.)

1 Comment »

  1. […] laptop woes episode2 Filed under: Linux — srikrishnadas @ 11:02 am Tags: acer 4315, gkrellm, GNU/Linux, heat, laptop, lm_sensors, support Continued from here. […]

    Pingback by laptop woes episode2 « su -c ‘rm -rf /mnt/proprietary’ — September 3, 2008 @ 11:02 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Please leave a Reply / Discuss this topic here :)

Blog at WordPress.com.

The Male Factor

On behalf of the ignored gender

Rough Draft

by Atteris Amarth and Darrek Ringo

The Kochi Post.

Read by all + Influenced by none

JumboMake

A signature of Kiran

SAAYAM CHEDDAM FOUNDATION

This blog is just for additional and extension share of it's main frames. No activity is planned from here

krish - 起死回生 [Wake up from death & return to life.]

Get a sneak peek into krish's life, work and passion.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

A Tale of Two and a Half

Monika Amita Bakshi

