krish – 起死回生 [Wake up from death & return to life.]

June 14, 2008

4 days to go…

Filed under: GNU/Linux — krish @ 4:37 am
Tags: , , ,

No. It’s not the countdown for launch of my start-up, neither is countdown for start of a new TV game show. 🙂
4 days remain for the start of my semester exams and I still don’t know where my books are. (Do I have them?). “Ah, I’ll just read them from internet”, is how I try to console myself.
All these days I’ve been busy at maintaining mukt.in and tasted the pressure of lead responsibilities. Today, after lots of effort into writing our own forms, the attendee registration is up finally. (Yes, we chose not to use CMS even this time).
I would like to thank sivaji, kidfoo, deepsa, AJuOnLiNE and sanjayb for their efforts at it, while I was merely debugging stuff. (Ok, I know some names sound weird, but those are IRC handles)

I thought, “Atleast today I should sit and read something today”. I use my blackbeauty(PC) for reading for exams/e-books, coding for KDragons and on lappie its django, PHP, MySQL.
It almost skipped my mind that I had messed up my Desktop yesterday. KDE4’s plasma was crashing and I didn’t fix that yet. The problem was that widgets support isn’t really great on my build.
Here’s how my desktop looked yesterday – orkut album link
While most of the google search look-up’s and chat at #kde(freenode) suggested deleting plasma* from $KDEHOME/share/config, I figured out that moving plasma-appletsrc to something like plasma-appletsrc.old should do for me. Really no reason to delete plasmarc for my problem.

And this was not the end of issues. My downloads stopped due to insufficient disk space. What in the world could fill up my 45GB of /home?
A quick du -h showed me 31GB being consumed by .strigi folder in my home directory.
There were no options to disable strigi from my systems settings and I was not finding a clue whether this belongs to KDED services.
After lot of head scratching I found strigi-daemon running in my process table and it was eating away my resource like a glutton. (77% of CPU time!) No wonder why I felt KDE4 was being slow.
A small work around for this problem is ‘sudo apt-get remove strigi-daemon’ and then delete all items from ~/.strigi/clucene
This seems to work fine, just that I don’t know the after-effects of reboot. Let’s wait and watch. 🙂

Oh by the way, would someone want to help me lose the habit of going to sleep at 5:00 am?
I’ve got exams from 18th, and all of them are at 10:00am. Time is ticking like always…

3 Comments »

  1. you could just call me Ravi Chandra 🙂
    and best of luck.

    Comment by Ravi Chandra Padmala — June 14, 2008 @ 11:44 pm

  2. All the best for your examas and make habit of going to bed early night, not early morning.
    take care of health dude

    Comment by unknown — June 15, 2008 @ 5:45 am

  3. Way to go man, a true techie 🙂 Best of luck for your exams.

    Comment by Akshat — June 23, 2008 @ 12:01 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Please leave a Reply / Discuss this topic here :)

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

The Male Factor

On behalf of the ignored gender

Rough Draft

by Atteris Amarth and Darrek Ringo

The Kochi Post.

Read by all + Influenced by none

JumboMake

A signature of Kiran

SAAYAM CHEDDAM FOUNDATION

This blog is just for additional and extension share of it's main frames. No activity is planned from here

krish - 起死回生 [Wake up from death & return to life.]

Get a sneak peek into krish's life, work and passion.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

A Tale of Two and a Half

Monika Amita Bakshi

