krish – 起死回生 [Wake up from death & return to life.]

April 29, 2008

KDE 4.0.71

Filed under: Free / Open Source — krish @ 12:43 am
Tags: , , , ,

This is continued from here.
Well, the build from qt-copy progressed, this time faster because I wasn’t reading techbase instructions much. If you remember my first build, it filled up my /home and later unmentioned in my blog, creped in few problems. I was able to run KDE4 applications from KDE3.5.8, KDE4 Desktop using Xephyr and even by running separate instances of X on virtual consoles, but not a full KDE4 session from login manager. It just used to hang. 😦

I wished I could save space by not having KDE3.5.8, just a tiny wish in my mind which accidentally came true when I un-installed gcc4.1 and g++4.1 (since I wanted to use 4.2 ). I used adept, and I didn’t realise that many packages were being removed until I took a glance at the screen to find that it was almost done. That includes kdm, xserver, all kde applications and finally adept itself.
I still wonder if I accidentally touched any other package other than gcc and g++.

Right now, my PC runs minimal KDE4 session, firefox, konversation and yes of course kdegames; well, call it playground/games. I’ve been playing kapman since I could finish building this up.
Oh, this reminds me, another small error I made during kdegames build. I ran svn up without checkout on libkdegames and libkmahjongg. The error came to light when I tried to build kapman. I asked around in #kdegames without trying to debug and passed on the confusion to many there.
I hadn’t build kdegames and how would kapman pick libraries from it then? It struck me when my belly rang a hunger warning. So, it was taken care of after dinner.

Now on KDE 4.0.71, with broken plasma. 😛

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Please leave a Reply / Discuss this topic here :)

Blog at WordPress.com.

The Male Factor

On behalf of the ignored gender

Rough Draft

by Atteris Amarth and Darrek Ringo

The Kochi Post.

Read by all + Influenced by none

JumboMake

A signature of Kiran

SAAYAM CHEDDAM FOUNDATION

This blog is just for additional and extension share of it's main frames. No activity is planned from here

krish - 起死回生 [Wake up from death & return to life.]

Get a sneak peek into krish's life, work and passion.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

A Tale of Two and a Half

Monika Amita Bakshi

