krish – 起死回生 [Wake up from death & return to life.]

April 14, 2008

Space crunch for KDE4.0.x build

Filed under: Uncategorized — krish @ 9:32 am
Tags: , , , ,

While the mentors might be pondering over my simply simple application for GSoC, I am making efforts to build the development environment.

KDE’s Techbase has a very well written documentation; thanks to everyone who contributed, it made my life a little easy. 🙂
The build was smooth until I compiled qt-copy. It failed due to insufficient disk space on my /home. This was obvious, since I had /home of 3GB only.
I use a very peculiar partitioning scheme. On an 80GB IDE Harddisk, I make 11 partitions, having /boot, /, swap, /usr, /var, /opt, /home, /code, /data, /musik, /vm-os.
While, reinstalling my distro with a huge /home would have been the sane thing, I decided to drop my /musik and /vm-os and created a /home of 15GB. I knew I have to build this again, but then continuing at this point would give me more experience.

So, by saturday night I was done with the kdebase build and was using KDE4 applications on KDE3.5.8 Desktop. At this point, my free space on /home was 6.1GB; I had option to delete my *.o files to free up space, which I didn’t exercise.

At #kdegames (irc.freenode.net), jpwhiting and milliams pointed me to kollision, it was fun and I was scoring points until I started understanding how to play. 😛
I fell asleep on my keyboard that night (happens many times); next day’s fun on next post. 😉

1 Comment »

  1. […] this time faster because I wasn’t reading techbase instructions much. If you remember my first build, it filled up my /home and later unmentioned in my blog, creped in few problems. I was able to run […]

    Pingback by KDE 4.0.71 « sql> USE krishblog; — April 29, 2008 @ 12:50 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Please leave a Reply / Discuss this topic here :)

Blog at WordPress.com.

The Male Factor

On behalf of the ignored gender

Rough Draft

by Atteris Amarth and Darrek Ringo

The Kochi Post.

Read by all + Influenced by none

JumboMake

A signature of Kiran

SAAYAM CHEDDAM FOUNDATION

This blog is just for additional and extension share of it's main frames. No activity is planned from here

krish - 起死回生 [Wake up from death & return to life.]

Get a sneak peek into krish's life, work and passion.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

A Tale of Two and a Half

Monika Amita Bakshi

