krish – 起死回生 [Wake up from death & return to life.]

January 10, 2008

Going Virtual…

Filed under: GNU/Linux — krish @ 1:03 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I used vmware workstation when I first started using OS on virtual platform.
Later I lost touch, and I had to get back to virtualization for testing and my abandoned LinuxFromScratch project.

I was still using vmware player with vmx machines build on vmware workstation. I longed for a change and started exploring options. Here are few things that ran in my mind since 2 days..

Virtualbox needs Qt as pre-requisite; I did not want Qt on my box.

Qemu – provides Qemu accelerator – KQemu for better performance on x86!
My PC is powered by AMD’s Sempron 2400+ and I might be happy with Qemu’s
performance. What happens when I move my virtual machines to intel box? Install KQemu!

Xen – needs the host operating system kernel to run on Xen itself.
So, probably I need to boot into the xen-mydistro-kernel (like in fedora); which I am not yet
comfortable with.

Kvm – Sun product. I was a little upset with the way things went with opensolaris and sun startup
programmes; hesitant to take a look at Kvm. May be it is a great product, may be it is not.

After hours of studying documentation for virtualization software and asking for suggestions in orkut (The GNU/Linux Group), IRC channels, I zeroed on virtualbox; finally allowed Qt on my box.

Luckily I got a deb package for feisty (saved me the hassle of building from source) and thanks to dpkg for easy installation.

Life couldn’t be much easier, I thought; this did not stand for long, I discovered that I removed myself from my secondary group by using `sudo usermod -G vboxusers`.
The brighter side of it is, I used my ubuntu recovery mode (in grub) for first time; added my name in old group lines of /etc/group and I was back in business. 🙂

Now what do I install as my new virtual OS? LFS, Zenwalk(redpill) or Mandriva2008!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Please leave a Reply / Discuss this topic here :)

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

The Male Factor

On behalf of the ignored gender

Rough Draft

by Atteris Amarth and Darrek Ringo

The Kochi Post.

Read by all + Influenced by none

JumboMake

A signature of Kiran

SAAYAM CHEDDAM FOUNDATION

This blog is just for additional and extension share of it's main frames. No activity is planned from here

krish - 起死回生 [Wake up from death & return to life.]

Get a sneak peek into krish's life, work and passion.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

A Tale of Two and a Half

Monika Amita Bakshi

